THG Staff & Board

THG’s headquarters are located in Denver, Colorado. Permanent staff members in Denver run the non-profit along with a Board of Directors from locations around the country and volunteers in Denver and Seattle.

Get to Know the Team


he Telecommunications History Group, Inc., is lucky to have an amazing and dedicated group of staff and board members in place. The Board members serve in a volunteer capacity, and work with staff and other volunteers to set strategy and goals, and ensure the goals are implemented.

While the THG Board has several members who are directly related to the telcom industry, either retired employees or current phone company employees, additional board members are brought in to complete areas of expertise such as marketing, fundraising, and legal. The THG Board has representatives chiefly from Denver and Seattle, with some members from other locations across the United States.

THG Staff

Lisa Berquist

THG Executive Director

Renee Lang

THG Executive Secretary

Telecommunications History Group, Inc. Board Officers

Jack Shea
THG President
US West (Ret.)
Michael W. Nearing
THG Vice President
John C. Darrow
THG Vice President
US West / Qwest (Ret.)
Jody L. Georgeson
THG Secretary
US West (Ret.)
John W. Kure
THG Treasurer
Qwest (Ret.)

Telecommunications History Group, Inc. Board Members

Peter Amstein
Software Industry Executive (Ret.)
Roger Christensen
Executive VP & Chief Administrative Officer (Ret.) – Media One
Laurence W. DeMuth, Jr.
EVP General Counsel & Secretary (Ret.) – US West
David Dintenfass
Full-Track Productions
Phil Grate
Director-Regulatory & Legislative Affairs – CenturyLink
Lisa Hensley Eckert
Vice President Public Policy – CenturyLink
John J. Herbolich
Telecommunications Director Network (Ret.) – US West, Inc.
Pamela W. Laird
Professor, Business History
University of Colorado Denver
Philip A. Linse
Ed Mattson
Medical Director (ret.)
Scott McClellan
VP Washington (ret.) – US West / Qwest
Mary Retka
Senior Director Industry Relations – SOMOS
Cliff Stice
Vice President – MediaOne International (Ret.)
Chief Operating Officer – Telenet (Belgium)